soma 25 soma records

Slam’s Soma Records will celebrate its 25th anniversary with a five-vinyl box set called Soma25.

Some of techno’s biggest names contribute to the package, which lands on March 31st. Influential veterans such as Robert Hood, Jeff Mills, Josh Wink, Adam Beyer, Steve Bicknell and Funk D’Void supply new original prouctions, while Jonas Kopp, Kobosil and DeepChord have chosen favourites from the Soma back catalogue to remix. Soma25’s 15 tracks will be spread over five slabs of wax, which means some tunes (such as Josh Wink’s “Synodic Period” and Slam’s “Tempest”) get a side to themselves. A new “Modular” Slam remix of Daft Punk‘s “Drive” also features.

Founded in the early ’90s by Slam, Dave Clarke and Glenn Gibbons, Soma Records is among the UK’s best-known techno labels. Alongside its weighty catalogue of influential techno, it’s known for launching the career of Daft Punk with a series of three singles between 1994 and 1996.

Watch a video teaser for Soma25.

A1 Robert Hood – The Bond We Formed
A2 Jeff Mills – A Tale From the Parallel Universe
B1 Daft Punk – Drive (Slam Modular Interpretation)
B2 Adam Beyer – Just Things
C1 Blawan – Clipper
C2 The Woodleigh Research Facility – S.O.M.A 25
D1 Josh Wink – Synodic Period
E1 Slam – Stepback (Jonas Kopp Remix)
E2 Slam – Visions (Kobosil Remix)
F1 Percy X – X Track (Vril Remix 2)
G1 Slam – Tempest
G2 Steve Bicknell – Mind Cycles
H Funk D’Void – 808 Planet
I1 Joe Stawarz – Cry (Deepchord Remix)
J1 Joe Stawarz – Beebear. (Deepchord Remix)

Soma Records will release Soma25 on 31 March 2017.